Motorsport 2 years ago

Hamilton wins race, Rosberg takes 2016 crown

Originally created on F1fanforever Blog by Neveragain.

Winning the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on Sunday afternoon was Lewis Hamilton. It was the Mercedes driver’s 53rd career Formula One victory, his 10th of the season and his fourth in a row. It was also his third win at Yas Marina Circuit. Hamilton’s margin of victory was .439 of a second over his Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg, but it wasn’t enough to wrestle away the championship from Rosberg.

Rosberg won his first Formula One title with a second-place finish in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. He came into the season finale with a 12-point lead over Hamilton, and his runner-up effort secured the championship by five points. Rosberg joins his father, Keke, in the realm of Formula One world champions, as Keke won the 1982 title.

You might also like

Keke and Nico Rosberg are only the second father-son duo to win championships, with Graham and Damon Hill the first to do so, as patriarch Graham won titles in 1962 and 1968 with son Damon scoring the 1996 championship.

The final race of 2016 also marked the final Formula One race for two of the sport’s biggest starts – Felipe Massa and Jenson Button. Massa ends his 14-year Formula One career with 250 starts, which includes 11 wins, 41 podiums, 16 poles and 937 laps led.

He drove his Williams to a ninth-place finish in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Button concludes his 17-year Formula One career with 305 starts, highlighted by the 2009 championship and 15 wins, 50 podiums, eight poles and 761 laps led. Button was credited with a 20th-place result at Abu Dhabi, as he was forced to the garage after 12 laps with a mechanical issue.

1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 1:38:04.013
2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, + 0.439
3. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, + 0.843
4. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, +1.685
5. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, + 5.315
6. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, + 18.816
7. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, + 50.114
8. Sergio Perez, Force India, + 58.776
9. Felipe Massa, Williams, + 59.436
10. Fernando Alonso, McLaren, + 59.896
11. Romain Grosjean, Haas, + 76.777
12. Esteban Gutierrez, Haas, + 95.113
13. Esteban Ocon, Manor, +1 LAP
14. Pascal Wehrlein, Manor, +1 LAP
15. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, +1 LAP
16. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, +1 LAP
17. Jolyon Palmer, Renault, +1 LAP

0 0
please wait...